Why is this girl so excited about books?

by Jessica Hundley

IMG_3158

My name is Jessica Hundley, and welcome to my blog! I am a sophomore at the University of Florida in the College of Journalism and Communications, and I have got to say it is pretty great to be a Florida gator! I am originally from Palm Beach Gardens, right on the sunny beaches of South Florida. I’ve grown up with books. I was that kid all through middle school who was really excited when the teacher told us to read quietly. I was also one of the only people in my high school classes that actually read the books assigned to us. Ever since I opened my very first Harry Potter book in the second grade, literature has captivated me. I love to hear other people’s input on books I’ve read. Two people can read the exact same book but get two completely different stories out of it. It’s all perception, and a lot of the story is up to the reader and their imagination. Personally, I find that pretty interesting. I am a journalism major, but what I’d really like to do is work in the book industry. A job in publishing would suit me just fine. But for right now I’m just enjoying the crazy journey that is college and just trying to survive on my own in the Swamp!